Google AdWords Campaign – 12 Steps to Get Started

So you’ve found an affiliate product to promote and need to set up your first Google AdWords campaign.

Here are the 12 steps to get started:

1) Keyword research

Use the Google Keyword tool to create a list of keywords related to your product. Ideally choose keywords that receive at least 1000 searches per month. Select your top 20 keywords to use for your campaign. Copy and paste your keywords into notepad so you can easily transfer them to your AdWords account.

2) Create a campaign

As summing you already created an AdWords account, create a new online campaign and name it something you can easily identify.

3) Create an ad group

An ad group contains your ads. You can set up as many ad groups as you want within your campaign. I suggest starting with one ad group then name it something related to the product of service you are marketing.

4) Create 2 ads within each ad group

Create 2 ads so you can split test them. Vary the second ad by only changing one line. Look at other ads on Google to get some idea how to write a good ad. Write a catchy headline that includes your keyword. Your ad should also include the description taken from the words at the top of your product page. For example if your keyword is “red shoes” and the headline of your product page reads “How to buy red shoes,” you should include this sentence and keyword in your ad.

5) Include the display and destination URL

The display URL should be the same as your product URL. If the product URL is redshoes.com your display URL should be the same. The destination URL is your affiliate link.

6) Add your keywords

Copy and paste the keywords you added to notepad into your campaign. Decide if you wish to use broad match (without brackets), “phrase match” or [exact match]. I generally use [exact match] because the words they are the exact keywords I want to us plus the clicks are more targeted.

7) Set up your budget

Set a low daily budget low (ie $5/day) so you don’t spend a lot of money immediately. Ideally you want to collect your data over a week’s period as you never know which day(s) will be the most profitable. Use the AdWords Keyword Tool to calculate the average cost per click you’ll pay for your keywords. It’s not exact so don’t place too much emphasis on it. For example it may say your keyword costs $10/click but after setting up your campaign you observe it only costs 50 cents per click.

8) Target your ads

The more targeted your ad is the better it will perform. You can target specific countries, time of day, languages, networks and devices (ie laptop, iphone, etc). I usually select English speaking countries, all times of the day, Google search and it’s partners and computer and laptop devices.

After letting your new campaign run for a while you’ll have sufficient data to begin making adjustments.

9) Rotate your ads

Under the scheduling and serving heading you’ll notice 2 options:
a) scheduling – this enables you to show your ad any time of the day
b) serving – you have 2 options
Optimize: Show better-performing ads more often (Recommended)
Rotate: Show ads more evenly
Check the rotate option because you are split testing 2 ads and want to see which one performs the best. One ad always serves as the control while you test the other one against it. Doing this exercise improves your conversion rates.

10) Track your campaign

Use a tracking tool such as Adtrackz to track all your keywords. You’ll then know which keywords generated the most sales.

11) Monitor your campaign

Observe the number of impressions, clicks, click through rate (CTR), cost per click to find which ad and what keyword performs the best then adjust them accordingly.

12) Tweak your campaign to maximize conversions

Your ultimate goal is to get conversions (make sales) otherwise you will only lose money. You need to continually optimize your campaign by testing different ads, adding new keywords, trying different match types (ie phrase, exact, broad), targeting different geographical areas and times. By continuously tweaking your campaign you’ll find a winning combination.

Tip
Don’ be discouraged if you lose money on your initial campaigns. Most people do. Only after running a number of campaigns will you find a profitable one.

Don’t give up!

Google AdWords – How to Choose an Affiliate Product to Promote

Do you realize you can start making money the first day using a combination of Google AdWords and an Affiliate Product?

How to choose an affiliate product to promote with Google AdWords

The 2 most popular affiliate networks are ClickBank and Commission Junction. They offer affiliates 10s of 1000s of products to sell with commissions as high as 75%.

Click Bank Marketplace
http://www.clickbank.com/marketplace.htm

Search for products by category, subcategory, keywords, product type, popularity and language. If you have deep pockets select a popular product but be prepared to bid high to get the top ad position because you’ll have a lot of competitors. You can see how many competitors you have by inserting your main keyword in the Google search box and see how many ads are displayed. If there are several pages of ads (ie 20-100) you can be sure it’s very competitive. If there are less than 8 it means there are only a few competitors.

It’s better to select a product that has few competing ads to have a greater chance of making a profit before going over your budget purchasing clicks.

Tip
Don’t stray away from new clickbank products. You might just find a profitable product before everyone else decides to promote it.

Once you’ve selected your product, it’s time to set-up a Google AdWords Campaign.

Also read: How to Make Money From A Blog With Affiliate Programs

Google AdWords – Disadvantages

My previous article discussed the Top 12 Benefits of Google AdWords however there are some things to keep mind before you plough ahead setting up campaigns believing you’ll quickly make lots of money.

7 disadvantages of creating a Google AdWords campaign:

1. Learning curve

Many of your Google AdWords campaigns will not be successful because there is a learning curve. It takes a while to to learn all the strategies to build a profitable campaign. When first starting out you may end up spending more than you are making. For example you could set your daily budget at $100.00 at $2.00/click and easily receive 50 clicks but no sales so you’ve already spent $100.00 on the first day. It’s better to spread your campaign out over 1 week so you have more data to look at. After collecting the data you can then make a more informed decision how to tweak your campaign.

2. Not all search engine visitors look at Google Ads

When people search on Google they mostly view the results on the left side (organic listings) and often don’t look on the right side where paid ads are displayed. Therefore you may miss some of your targeted keyword phrases. Once you have a profitable AdWords campaign work to also get listed on the first page of the organic listings so you don’t have to pay for clicks.

3. Advertisers with deep pockets get top ad positions

If there are many advertisers in your market your cost per click will be very high. For example there may be 200 ads for the particular keyword you’re bidding on so to be on the first pay may cost you $5 pr click. This will eat up your budget very quickly as an individual advertiser however
a company with a large budget can easily afford it. If the top position costs is too expensive aim for positions 3-4.

4. Quality score affects cost per click

Google assesses how you organize your campaigns. If you have a low quality score, Google will increase the minimum bid you have to pay for your keywords. For example if your landing page is not good quality or doesn’t meet Google’s guidelines you will receive a low quality score.

5. Not tracking campaigns

Google AdWords campaigns are easy to set up however many folks fail to track their keywords so they don’t know which keyword triggered the sale. It’s important to track each campaign so you can determine your return on investment (ROI). I suggest purchasing a copy of AdTrackz to track your ads and all your keywords for every campaign.

6. Believing what Google suggests

Ignore what Google suggests when setting up your campaign. They’ll suggest to pay more to get listed on the first page. They have an automatic matching feature that turns on automatically. Make sure you opt out of these suggestions as you don’t pay more than you need to. First let your campaign run to see what price you are actually paying per click then adjust your campaign settings to what YOU want not what Google wants.

7. Lose money fast

If you don’t learn all about how Google AdWords works and don’t monitor your campaigns you’ll lose money fast. Make sure you read the material at the Google AdWords Learning Center before diving in.

Beyond these 7 disadvantages, Google Adwords is an excellent tool for advertising your product or service because you get immediate traffic using laser targeted ads and can control how much you spend.

Google AdWords – Top 12 Benefits

Google Adwords offers advertisers a fast and easy way to promote their products even if you don’t have a web site. If you’re not experienced with using Google Adwords or have tried unsuccessfully to create profitable campaigns then this series of articles is for you.

Top 12 Benefits of Google AdWords

1. Easy implementation

You can set up a Google AdWords account within 30 minutes or less. After creating an account at adwords.google.com, you simply create a short ad, select your keyword phrases using the Google Keyword Tool then tell Google how much you want to spend each day and how much you want to spend per click for each keyword.

After activating the campaign your ad will be displayed on the right side of the search engine results pages. There’s a lot more to learn about how to tweak your campaigns to profitability however I’ll cover that in later articles.

2. No web site needed

You can become an affiliate marketer by signing up for an affiliate program then promote it with Google AdWords. You receive an affiliate link from the product web site which you include in your ad. When someone clicks on this URL and orders the product you receive an affiliate commission.

If you find several profitable products to promote you can make money very quickly.

3. Make money fast

The key to creating profitable Google AdWords campaigns is your return on investment (ROI). For example if your affiliate commission is $100.00 you need to make 1 sale before spending over $100 on clicks. If your cost per click (CPC) is $1.00 then 100 clicks will cost you $100.00.

After creating one profitable campaign, create several others so you will multiply your profits. One word of caution..not every campaign you set up will be profitable so use the profits generated from your successful ones to set up others.

4. Market any type of product

Marketing affiliate products enables you to select from 10s of 1000s of products. You’re only limited by your imagination. Clickbank and Commission Junction are two of the most popular networks to find affiliate products to promote.

If marketing affiliate products, you don’t have to worry about offering customer service, you don’t need a web site and you get paid for promoting the affiliate product. If the product doesn’t sell well, you just move on to another product.

5. Sell your own products

The beauty of selling you own products ie ebooks, reports, goods is that you receive the full price instead of just getting a commission. You can also set up an affiliate program and get others to promote your product. Super affiliates can bring you a lot of sales.

6. Test market products

How do you know if your idea of a new product will sell?

Google AdWords enables you to quickly test the profitability of your product by creating a couple of ads. After letting your ads run for a while you’ll quickly see which keywords convert ads into sales. If you only get a few or no clicks you’ll know the product won’t sell. This will save you a lot of time and money building and marketing a web site that may not be profitable.

7. Get your ads displayed immediately on the first page of Google

If you tried to get on the first page of Google for organic listings (web sites listed on the left side) it may take months, years because of the fierce competition. You’d first have to build a web site then optimize it for the search engines and create a link building campaign. Often sites listed near the top of the search engines have 1000s of incoming links pointing to them from other sites. A new web site will take a long time to compete with these well established ones.

8. Set your own budget

You can specify the amount you wish to spend per day and the amount to spend on each click. For example you can set your daily amount to $5.00. After the number and cost of clicks reaches that figure your ads won’t be shown again until the next day.

9. Generate lots of immediate traffic to your web site

Instead of waiting for your web site to get indexed by the search engines you can drive traffic to it instantly with Google AdWords. For example if your main keyword gets 30,000 searches per month and you bid on it you’ll start receiving some of those 30,000 visitors.

10. Split test your ads

Google allows you to split test 2 ads against each other using the same keywords for both. If one ad is not performing you simply create another and run it against the best one. You can keep doing this to create the perfect ad..one that receives the highest conversion rate.

11. Enable precise targeting

Your ads allow geographic targeting. For example you can target a specific country, blocks of countries, a state, or city.

Your ads allow time targeting. For example, you can specify your ads to only appear from 10am until 2pm on Thursdays or weekends. You have enormous control over the timing of your campaigns.

12. Manage and monitor your campaigns

Google utilizes several tools to manage and track your campaigns. Some of these include:

Keyword Tool
Build a master list of new keywords for your ad groups and review detailed keyword performance statistics like advertiser competition and search volume.

Traffic Estimator
Estimates how much traffic you get for your keywords.

Conversion Tracking
Learn which ads are the best at helping you reach your goals.

Website Optimizer
Experiment with different versions of a page on your website to discover the best content for boosting your business.

AdWords Editor
This campaign management application enables you to make changes offline, then upload your revised campaigns.

Google Analytics
Helps you find out what keywords attract your most desirable prospects, what advertising copy pulled the most responses, and what landing pages and content make the most money for you.

Now that you know the top 12 benefits of Google AdWords, find a product to promote and build a profitable campaign with it.

You can start making money today!

Google Cash Detective Software Review

How to spy on your competitors plus make money…FAST

Have you ever lost money on a Pay Per Click (Google AdWords) campaign because you spent more than you earned?

Would you like to know exactly which advertisers are running the most profitable PPC campaigns, how long they’ve run, how much they’re spending per click, what ads they are showing and what landing pages they are using?

What the Google Cash Detective (GCD) does.

With GCD you can find and clone profitable PPC campaigns within minutes by cloning your competitors profitable ads. By entering a keyword into GCD you’ll immediately get a bird’s eye view of all the PPC campaigns associated with that keyword. If you enter your competitors URL in GCD it will instantly show you all the ads they’re running.

How will the Google Cash Detective Software help you?

Generate cash..FAST

The GCA enables you to generate money online very quickly by finding and promoting affiliate products with PPC advertising. You’ll instantly see which products are making money by targeting the right keywords and creating the best ads. You don’t even need a product, web site or email list.

Save time and money

Instead of the trial and error approach (losing time and money) you can generate a profitable PPC campaign by cloning one that is already profitable (has been making money for several months).

Know if your product idea will be profitable

Before you spend time and money developing your own product use GCD to do the research for you. It will show you all the profitable PPC campaigns in your market.

Generate instant traffic

The Google Cash Detective will help anyone to promote their products (or affiliate products) or services online because you can generate visitors within a short time (within a few hours or days). You don’t have to spend time and energy trying to beat a million other web sites in the search engines to get ranked in the top 10. Instead your ad gets displayed on the first page of Google(Google ads are displayed on the right).

Create Almost immediate results

With PPC advertising you only need to open a Google AdWords account, then create some ads. Within a few hours or days you will see if your ads are profitable or not. The GCD is a competitive intelligence tool that you have at your disposal 24/7.

Who is it for?

It’s great for consultants, web designers, etc who help online or offline businesses by providing competitive intelligence, generating targeted traffic and improving conversion rates.

It’s also a great way for anyone to build a business online by marketing other people’s products or services.

You’re supported with lots of video training materials that show you step by step how to best use the Google Cash Detective.

Where can I get it?

For more information please visit:

Google Cash Detective Software

or

http://www.drostdesigns.com/at/go.php?c=gcd

Is there limit on the number of users?

Yes, once the limit has been reached the GCD will not be available. This is to allow the creator of the software to work closely with people that purchased it and not flood the market.

Click here to get the FREE Trial of Google Cash Detective Software

Sales Letter – How to Split Test Your Sales Page to Improve Conversion Rates

How do you know if your sales letter or web page is converting viewers into buyers?

You could ask some of your friends and each could have a different opinion of what headline design to use. That’s not a very solid method of testing. A more scientific way is to split test your sales letter. This is also called A/B testing.

A split test is when visitors get sent to two versions of your sales letter or web page. It creates 2 different versions of your page. One would be your control page (index.html) and the other your test page (index2.html).

Steps for Creating Your Split Test Page.

1. Create your sales letter page

You must have a live web site which you drive traffic to.

2. Tracking software

I use Adtrackz to split test my web pages. Adtrackz creates one split test link. You then direct visitors to this link. Adtrackz will automatically split visitors between index1.html and index2.html. If your visitor orders, you will know which version of the sales page produced the sale.

3. Change one factor on the test page.

Only test one thing at a time then observe the affects. Factors test may include:

headlines
keywords
first paragraph
header graphic
price
bonus
testimonials

4. Analyze your results

After generating traffic to your split test page (you can use Google AdWords for this) you can determine which version performed the best. In Adtrackz you click on Split Test Statistics in the Split Test menu.

Continue testing different factors of your sales letter to increase conversion rates and make more sales. Creating a Split Test is the best way to quickly see what works and what doesn’t.

*******************************
If you are looking for a fast way to market your products,
then Google AdWords is a great solution. You can set up
an AdWords campaign within a few minutes and start
making good money within a few hours.

Read: The Definitive Guide to Google AdWords.

How to Split Test Your Google Ads

Do you want to increase the sales from your web site or ad?

You could randomly try different things hoping to increase conversion rates however this is like throwing mud at a wall and hoping it will stick.

A more scientific method is using split testing. This allows you to monitor small changes to your ad or web page. You can test different headlines, graphics, navigation or content. Often one small change can result in a higher conversion rate.

How to split test your Google Ads

1. Create a Google Adwords account

This can be done in 15 minutues at: http://www.adwords.google.com

2. Create 2 ads that are slightly different .

One can be the control ad where nothing is changed and the other is the test ad where you’ve changed one keyword. Only change one thing at a time when testing so you can observe which factor makes a difference.

3. Create a landing page

This could be the home page of your web site or a sales page. Since you are only testing which ad works best the landing page should be the same for both ads.

If you were testing landing pages you would create 2 different URLS then split the number of visitors you receive from the ads between the 2 URLS.

4. Track your ads

Place a tracking URL within each ad to monitor which ad pulls best. I use AdTrackz.
It enables you to test any URL, do split testing and shorten long URLS by cloaking them. You can then monitor all your tracking campaigns within AdTrackz with one click.

5. Analyze your results

By split testing these 2 ads you can clearly determine what information works best. Simple changes to the ad such as changing the headline or altering one word may result in a higher click through rate.

Split-Test Your Adwords Ads In 2 Minutes Or Less

A/B spit testing your Google Ads

*******************************
If you are looking for a fast way to market your products
or business, then Google AdWords is a great solution. You
can set up an AdWords campaign within a few minutes and be
making good money within days.

Read: The Definitive Guide to Google AdWords.

What is Google AdWords?

One of the best ways to test your ad, web page copy or generate immediate sales is to create an AdWords campaign. It’s quick to set up and easy to track your ads.

What is Google AdWords?

These are ads that run down the right side of the search engine results when you enter a keyword or keyword phrase in the Google search box. They are Pay Per Click (PPC) which means you pay a small fee every time someone clicks on them. The more clicks you receive the more you spend.

The key to success with Google AdWords is to make more money than you spend on the ads. You do this by continually trying different versions of your ad. Often one word or even capitalizing one word may increase your conversion rate.

Other factors affecting your conversion rates may include:

Ad quality
Ad placement
Keyword choice
Landing page design, copy, navigation

Benefits of Google AdWords

1. Fast set-up

It takes less than 30 minutes to set-up your Google AdWords account.

2. Immediate traffic

You can begin receiving traffic almost immediately after your account is created. This beats trying to get organic listings (search results listed in the middle) which may take months to even appear on the front page. If it’s a very competitive term you may never rank on the first page.

3. Fast test results

With a couple of ads you can quickly test if your copy attracts any traffic. If you don’t receive any clicks it means you probably won’t get much traffic to your web site if you use the same copy.

4. Make money

Creating several ads that convert well can make you a lot of money particularly if your product is in high demand and has little competition (not many competing ads).

5. Generate sales for affiliate programs

If you don’t have your own product, you can create ads to sell other peoples’ products through affiliate programs. The beauty of this method is that the company does all the work for you in terms of converting visitors into sales. You just need to generate traffic from your ads and collect commissions for every sale you make.

6. Set a maximum cost per day

You can set your AdWords campaign spending at a predefined amount per day. If you receive a lot of activity, you can tell Google not to display your ad after you’ve spent a certain amount. Once this amount has been reached, your ad won’t display until the following day.

7. Stop or pause campaign at any time

You can pause or stop a campaign at any time if you want to edit your ad.

For a complete guide read to Google Adwords read:
Definitive Guide to Google AdWords

Tips for Google AdWords Success

*******************************
If you are looking for a fast way to market your products
or business, then Google AdWords is a great solution. You
can set up an AdWords campaign within a few minutes and be
making good money within days.

Read: The Definitive Guide to Google AdWords.

Google AdWords – How to Test Your Web Page Copy

Have you ever tested the copy of your web page?

If you don’t test it you’ll never know if your conversion rate can increase. It’s easy to get comfortable with what you currently have if you are already getting a lot of business however the top marketers are always testing things to improve sales.

If you’ve ever tried Google AdWords you’ll know that changing or capitalizing one word in an ad can result in a higher conversion rate.

If you want to test your web page copy set up a Google AdWords campaign.

For example if you want to test a new keyword create 2 different ads for this keyword, then view the number of clicks it gets and observe how it converts. This is known as split testing.

If the new copy converts at an equal or better rate than the old and you think there’s a good chance it will improve your rankings, give it a try. You can always restore your old copy if things go badly.

Don’t completely change your web page copy if you are already getting alot of business. One customer paid a lot of money to get his copy rewritten and his conversion rates decreased.

Make only one change at a time, then monitor your conversion rate to see if it improves.

*******************************
If you are looking for a fast way to market your products
or business, then Google AdWords is a great solution. You
can set up an AdWords campaign within a few minutes and be
making good money within days.

Read: The Definitive Guide to Google AdWords.